The Importance of Moisturizing Natural Hair…Try the LOC Method!

If you are wear your natural hair, then you know first hand how dry our hair can get. Some naturals (including me) use the LOC method as a tandem moisturizing technique to combat that dryness. It stands for (L) liquid or leave-in conditioner (O) oil and (C) cream. You apply the products in that order. The goal is to add and seal in moisture.

I like to tell people to think of their hair as a plant. What happens to a plant if you don’t give it water? The leaves wither then break off and die! Well that is EXACTLY what can happen to our hair. Without moisture, natural hair can become dry and produce split ends. It then will begin to break off.

As I stated, I use the LOC method and I am glad that I found it. I usually do it after my wash and deep condition session but before I begin to style. I keeps my hair soft and moisturized for at least 3-4 days.

The products I use are:

(L) Liquid – I like to use water and a leave in conditioner. First, I simply spray a few pumps of water throughout the section. Then add my favorite leave in I have two and they include the Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Restorative Conditioner or the Eden Body Works Coconut Shea All Natural Leave-In Conditioner.

(O) Oil – the oil is used to seal in the moisture from the water and/or leave-in. I love to use a jojoba and coconut oil mixture. I love the two because both are light and non-greasy oils that helps to add shine, elasticity and softness to the hair.

(C) Cream – the cream seals further seals in moisture.
The purpose is for each layer to seal the layer before it, i.e. the oil seals in the liquid and the cream seals in the oil. My favorite cream is usually a hair milk like the Palmer’s Coconut Oil Formula Replenishing Hair Milk or Shea Moisture Curl and Style Milk.

I have included a video from one of my favorite YouTube bloggers, IKnowLee. She’s explains her experience using the LOC method.
Hope you enjoy!

Do you use the LOC method in your hair regimen? If so, what products do you use?
I would love to hear from you! Leave a comment below!

~Stay Curly My Friends!~ 😘

Leave a Reply

